Rumors, not to be believed…

Shivam Sharma
3 min readMay 15, 2020

--

When I was in college, I came to know about the incident which was to happen on April 29 of this 2020. It was about some asteroid going to strike the earth's surface, and according to some sources(which were mostly statuses of unorthodox people of my contact list), this strike would destroy half of the population. At first, it sounded like Thanos's idea to vanish half of the population of the earth by a single pinch(Marvel fans would get it).

I wish that a pinch could end this corona virus

Well, it sounds funny but I believe that most of the guys have some people in contact who have seriously lame humor about the things which they certainly get from Whatsapp university. I have been seeing such things previously too, so I just ignored and didn’t think to give emphasis on it. I wasn’t sure about the incident but I believe that whenever we hear something unexpected, in spite of not wishing to accept the fact, that thing keeps striking our mind. The information faked maybe, gets settled in our minds somehow, and we always want to know the in-depth reality. Quite similar was the condition with me, actually. Somehow, due to busy college curriculum and enjoyable days of the off winter season, my curiosity to know this face got faded away and I forgot this to most of the extent.

The orbit of asteroid (52768) 1998 OR2. It requires 3 years and 8 months to orbit the sun once. It gets nearly as far from the sun as Jupiter (about 5 times Earth’s distance from the sun). Image via NASA/ JPL.

A few days later, it was Holi break for about 4 days and like others, I too planned to go back to my home to celebrate Holi with my family. I enjoyed the colours thoroughly with my family and friends. Meanwhile, I thought to book the tickets to return back to the college but was continuously getting news that colleges across the country have started to shut down due to the fast-spreading corona-virus. So, I thought to postpone the booking date. Well, at that moment, I didn’t know that this uncurable virus will take the face of the pandemic that for the upcoming few months, I will be spending my days at home only in a severe lockdown.
Well, expectations not always work the same way we want and today’s lockdown is the proof of this fact.

Anyways, after the lockdown was announced, another thing I was getting to know which reminded me of the asteroid incident. For some people, it was like another pandemic. This was getting on my nerves so I finally decided to solve the puzzle. To my surprise, google took me to the same webpage of my wish just by typing “asteroid” in its search bar. And, it was finally at that page that quenched my curiosity. And this was what written on the CNN website…

“On April 29, an asteroid estimated to be between 1.1 and 2.5 miles wide will fly by Earth. But it’s not expected to collide with our planet, thankfully. If it did, the asteroid is “large enough to cause global effects,” according to NASA, back when the asteroid was first discovered.”I tried searching at some more places and got the same results. Finally, I had some info about the rumor of some asteroid hitting the earth.
And, that’s how I got the in-depth reality of the rumors, obviously not to be believed(haha). Also, this helped me to satisfy others about this fake information.

Leaving with a smile…
Thanks for reading

--

--